Updates, Oct. 2023 - Supplement 2: TEST SERIES

(May '21 + Oct. '23)

European Tour 1951

16th June . v Windmolens

The Windmolens team also included Tonny Kroeze.

21st June, v Die Vliegende Hollanders

Heat winners & times

Ht 1). Toby Boshoff 85.2; Ht 2). Tinus Metzelaar 83.4; Ht 3). Arend Hartman 83.8;

Ht 4). Buddy Fuller 85.1; Ht 5). Co Boef 84.3;

Ht 6). Bob Raw 83.7;

Ht 7). Harry du Toit 82.8; Ht 8). Piet van Aartsen 85.3; Ht 9). Arend Hartman 85.1;

Ht 10). Co Boef 84.4; Ht 11). Alec Blankfield 85.5; Ht 12). Tinus Metzelaar 84.2.

18th August, v Holland @ Rotterdam

Henk Steman scored 11 points for Holland.

18th August, v Holland @ Rijswijk

Tonny Kroeze did not score.

.....

Home Test Series

1950/51 SA v Holland

1st Test @ Wembley (Johannesburg) – attendance 8,000

Non-Test results

20th January 1951

Fred Wills Select v Holland @ Bloemfontein (Railway Grounds)

Fred Wills set a new 4-lap track record of 81.3 secs and a new 1-lap track record of 19.3 secs

24th March 1951

Germiston Eagles & Boksburg Lions v Holland @ Boksburg

Jan Bosman won the second-half Prince George Park Trophy.

1951/52 SA v Overseas

1st Test @ Wembley (Johannesburg) – attendance 11,000 not 13,000

2nd Test @ Wembley (Johannesburg) – attendance 12,000.

1951/52 SA Select v Overseas

2nd Test @ Cape Town (van Riebeeck Stadium) – attendance 12,000.

1953/54 SA v England

3rd Test @ Wembley (Johannesburg) – attendance 10,000.

1954/55 SA v British Commonwealth

Non-Test (Full) Result

03/02/55 SA v British Commonwealth @ Randfontein

South Africa 33: (Henry Long 10, Doug Davies 7, Fred Wills ([captain] 6 +2, Roy Bester 5 + 2, Alec Blankfield 4 + 2, Trevor Blokdyk 1, Doug Lang 0)

British Commonwealth 39: (Barry Briggs 12 [max], Ken McKinlay 10, Ronnie Genz 7 + 1, Peter Clark 4, Junior Bainbridge 3, Gerald Jackson 3 + 2, Alan Quinn 0).

1955/56 SA v Scandinavia

2nd Test @ Durban – attendance 6,000.

Non-Test results

22/11/55 @ Pretoria - International Best Pairs:

1st Olle Nygren/Dan Forsberg (Sweden) 20; 2nd Basse Hveem/Reider Kristoffersen (Norway) 16;

3rd Doug Davies/Arthur Duncan (SA) 15; 4th Rune Sormander/Lasse Petterson (Sweden) 14;

5th Alan Hunt/Dave Collins (England) 12; 6th Neil Mortimer/Roy Bester (SA) 11.

1956/57 SA v England

Non-Test results

03/11/56: Durban Hornets v England – England won.

England were captained by Alan Hunt who scored a 12 point maximum.

Eric Boothroyd and Jimmy Gooch also rode for England.

March 1957: SA v England @ Klerksdorp The date of this meeting was 9^{th} March .

1957/58 SA v Europe

01/02/58: 2nd Test Match @ Bulawayo

Score was SA 42% - Europe 64%, (confirmed by report in the 3^{rd} February 1958 edition of Dagens Nyheter, Swedish newspaper.)

08/03/58: 5th Test Match @ Bulawayo: Score was SA 64½ – Europe 43½.

1960/61 SA v Europe

Non-Test results

- 1. The Bloemfontein Best Pairs meting was staged on 18th March 1961
- 2. 11th March 1961 @ Hoy Park, Durban Durban Hornets 31 (Claude Warne 9) lost to Europe 38 (Reg Duval 12 maximum; Erich Luther 11)
- 3. 17th March 1961 @ Wembley, Johannesburg Wembley Lions beat Europe 42-30
- 4. 23rd March 1961 @ Van Riebeeck Stadium, Witbank SA Invitation Team beat Europe 44-28
- 5. 21st April 1961 @ Wembley, Johannesburg Champion of Champions Trophy, 1st Erich Luther; 2nd Henry Long; 3rd Neil Mortimer; 4th Claude Warne.

 	•••••

1972 SA v Rhodesia

SA Captain for the series – Dennis Newton Rhodesia Captain for the series – Peter Prinsloo

1972/73 Southerrn Africa v Overseas

Other Matches

International Best Pairs

22nd December 1972 @ Wembly Stadium, Johannesburg South Africa B: Ettienne Olivier [9]/Vic Pretorius [3] 12; Australasia: Bob Young [8]/Robin Adlington [3] 11; England: Peter Murray [7]/Dave Durham [4] 11; South Africa A: Dennis Newton [6]/Jimmy Gallacher [5] 11; Rhodesia: Roni Ferguson [3]/Ian MacMillan [2] 5; South Africa C: George Baynes [2]/Danie Fourie [1] 3

1st January 1973 @ Hoy Park, Durban

South Africa A: Jimmy Gallacher [9]/Dennis Newton [4] 13
England: Peter Murray [5]/ Dave Durham [7] 12
Australasia: Bob Young [8]/Robin Adlington [3] 11
South Africa B: Ettienne Olivier[7]/Vic Pretorius [4] 11
Rhodesia: Roni Ferguson [2]/Ian MacMillan [1] 3
South Africa C: George Baynes [0]/Danie Fourie [3] 3

Top Three Aggregate Scores: -

South Africa A 24 points; 2. England 23 points; 3. South Africa B 23 points

1972/73 SA v USA

SA Captain for the series – Dennis Newton

1974 SA v Rhodesia

Rhodesia Captain for this series – Peter Prinsloo

1974 Rhodesia v SA

SA Captain for this series – Dennis Newton Rhodesia Captain for this series – Peter Prinsloo

1975 SA v Rhodesia

SA Captain for this series - Dennis Newton

Rhodesia Captain for this series - Peter Prinsloo

The following SA scorers for the 2nd Test at Stilfontein can be confirmed:

Arthur Bruins 2pts; Brian Stephen 1pt.

The following Rhodesia scorers for the 2nd Test at Stilfontein can be confirmed:

Peter Prinsloo 8pts; Dave Hemus 5pts; Colin Payne 0pts whilst Pip Harris did not ride

1981/82 SA v USA

Other Matches

Yamaha International Best Pairs

7th February 1982 @ Ottawa Speedring nr. Durban

1st: Denzil Ken/Noddy Naude (South Africa)

2nd: Mark Borgman/Tom Dickerson (USA)

3rd: Bob Borg/Chris Reichardt (USA)

1981/82 SA v USA (Indoor Series)

SA Captain for this series – Denzil Kent USA Captain for this series – Mark Borgman

1982/83 SA v Overseas

Overseas Captain for the series – Pete Smith

1982/83 SA v Overseas (Indoor Series)

SA Captain for the series – Peter Prinsloo Overseas Captain for the series – Dave Jessup

1983/84 SA v Overseas

7th Test @ Blomfontein was staged on !!th February 1984.

Alan Simpson captained S.Africa for the seres and became the first rider to do so without having any experience of racing overseas.

Overseas Captain for the series – Richard Knight

1991/92 SA v International Select

SA Captain for the series – Noddy Naude International Select Captain for the series – Richard Knight 3rd January 1992 – Top Scorers Race: 1st Gary Havelock; 2nd Richard Knight; 3rd Deon Prinsloo 17th January 1992 – Top Scorers Race: 1st Carl Stonehewer; 2nd Gary Havelock; 3rd John Wainwright

1995/96 SA v Poland

BA Captain for the series – Karoly Lechky	
Poland Captain for the series – Sebastian Ulamek	