Test Matches raced in Rhodesia – 1970s

This data is reproduced from 'Internationalspeedway.com' by kind permission of Brian Collins.

1971 Rhodesia v. South Africa

Rhodesian Stars won series 3-0

06.02 : Bulawayo (Showgrounds)	Rhodesian Stars 49	South African Select	28
07.02 : Gwelo (Newmarket Stadium)	Rhodesian Stars 55	South African Select	35
10.02 : Salisbury (Glamis Stadium)	Rhodesian Stars 42	South African Select	28

This series, for the "Southern African Team Championship" was between the **Rhodesian Stars** and a touring **South African Select**.

The Rhodesian team had to be strengthened by the inclusion of foreign riders.

Team manager for this series for South Africa was Trevor Blokdyk.

For Rhodesia Stars, team managers were Martin Lee (Bulawayo), Gerald Spanton (Gwelo) and Alex Hughson (Salisbury). At Gwelo, Jessup established a new track record of 69.8

Rhodesian Stars	T1	T2	T3	Total	South African Select	T1	T2	T3	Tota
Bob Young (Aus)	9	-	11	20	Dennis Newton ©	8	11	8	27
Zak "Abe" Koekemoer ©	10	2	4	16	Vic Pretorius	7	3	4	14
Barry Duke (Eng)	15	-	-	15	Bob Young (Aus)	-	13	-	13
Dave Jessup (Eng)	-	15	-	15	Oyvind Berg (Nor)	-	-	11	11
Oyvind Berg (Nor)	-	14	-	14	Dave Jessup (Eng)	9	-	-	9
Bill McMillan (Scot)	-	14	-	14	Ettienne Olivier	2	5	-	7
Peter Prinsloo	4	5	5	14	Tommy Viljoen	0	3	3	6
Geoff Curtis (Aus)	-	-	11	11	Danie Fourie	2	0	0	2
Laurie Etheridge (Eng)	9	-	-	9	Tony Jongvisser	-	-	2	2
Alan Harris	2	5	-	7					
Bobby Beaton (Scot)	-	-	6	6					
Jim Gallacher (Scot)		-	5	5					

1971/72 "Sassenachs" (England) v. World Stars

World Stars won 2 – 1

This was an England v Rest of the World series in all but name. Politics in Rhodesia at that time ruled out the appearance of any official England team, so the name Sassenachs was used.

15.12 : Salisbury (Glamis Stadium)
17.12 : Bulawayo (Showgrounds)
28.01 : Bulawayo (Showgrounds)

Sassenachs 32 World Stars 59 Sassenachs 50 World Stars 39 Sassenachs 36 World Stars 53

Sassenachs	T1	T2	T3	Total	World Stars	T1	T2	Т3	Total
Tom Leadbitter	4	12	9	25	Brian Collins (Scot)	12	5	12	29
Dave Hemus	14	10	-	24	Peter Prinsloo (Rho)	9	11	9	29
Malcolm Brown	3	12	7	22	Oyvind Berg (Nor)	12	7	9	28
Norman Strachan	7	0	8	15	Odd Fossengen (Nor)	4	9	8	21
Alan Cowland	0	8	5	13	Geoff Curtis (Aus)	12	6	-	18
Laurie Etheridge	3	8	2	13	Bob Young (Aus)	10	1	6	17
Dave Jessup		-	5	5	Bob Valentine (Aus)	-	-	9	9

1974 Rhodesia v. South Africa

Rhodesia won series 2-0

13.09 : Salisbury (Glamis Stadium)	Rhodesia	27	South Africa	21
14.09 : Bulawayo (Showgrounds)	Rhodesia	36	South Africa	12

Note : The Rhodesia Herald named the teams for these matches as: Rhodesia : Peter Prinsloo, Mike Ferreira, Pip Harris, & Ray Barclay.

South Africa : Dennis Newton, Louis Fourie, Danie Fourie, & Vic Pretorious

At Salisbury, Peter Prinsloo was only beaten by Dennis Newton in heat 5.

At Bulawayo, Mike Ferreira lowered the track record to 53.9 in heat 8 (all races at Bulawayo were over 3 laps) At Bulawayo, other than through engine failure, Prinsloo, Ferreira and Harris rode undefeated.

1975 Rhodesia v Overseas

10.05 : Salisbury (Glamis Stadium)

Rhodesia 34 Overseas 20

RHODESIA	34	OVERSEAS	20
Peter Prinsloo	8	Dave Hemus (Eng)	7 + 1
Chris Prinsloo	3 + 2	Dennis Paulson (Rho)	2
Mike Ferreira	7	Malcolm Brown (Eng)	8
Ray Barclay	4 + 3	Colin Payne (Rho)	0
Pip Harris	6	Russell Pattinson (Rho)	3
Zak Koekemoer	6 + 2	Neil Webb (Aus)	0

Rider of the Night Trophy Ht.1: Ferreira, C Prinsloo, P Prinsloo f,rm, Harris f,rm. 62.0. Ht.2: Brown, Hemus, Webb, Pattinson 62.0. Final: Brown, Ferreira, Hemus, C Prinsloo 60.5.

ccj speedway-sa.com 12.1.2018